You are here: About Our School --> Governors

When viewing on a mobile device, scroll down past submenu to view content.

About Our School


Meeting Structure

As well as the Full Governing Body (FGB), there are two sub-committees which meet at least once per term. These are the Finance and Business Management Committee (FBM) and the Standards, Quality and Curriculum Committee (SQC).


Forthcoming Meetings

13 Sept 2017 - Full Governing Body

11 Oct 2017 - Finance & Business Management Committee

29 Nov 2017 - Standards, Quality & Curriculum Committee

13 Dec 2017 - Full Governing Body


Minutes from previous meetings

Click on the links below to view the minutes to recent governing body meetings.

Pecuniary Interests

School Governors must declare any pecuniary interests which may impact the discussions and decisions made by the Governing Body. You can view the Register Of Interests by clicking the button below


Members of the Governing Body are valued volunteers who bring a wide variety of skills, experience and expertise to shape the strategic direction of the school. Governing Bodies are often referred to as the 'critical friend' of the school. They are there to support but also to provide challenge to ensure the best outcome for the school as a whole. Together with the Headteacher, the Governing Body are responsible for forward planning, strategy and school policies.

If you wish to contact the Chair of Governors, please do so through the school office.

Please click the button below to view the latest letter from the Chair of Governors to the parents of the school.

Please click the buttons below for information on the current structure of the Governing Body, including roles within school, date of appointment, attendance, and declarations of interest.


Who Are Our Governors?

Mr Jim MaherMr Jim Maher

Parent Governor, appointed for 4 years from 15 October 2016

Vice Chair of the Governing Body and Governor responsible for Maths and Science.

Jim is an Engineering Manager in the automotive industry.

Mr Richard AskewMr Richard Askew

Co-opted Governor for 4 years from 1 December 2015.

Governor responsible for Health and Safety.

Richard is a retired Environment, Health and Safety Manager and is CMIOSH qualified. Was Chair Of Governors of KVPS in the past and is involved in many local trusts and organisations, such as the local conservation committee.

Mr Steven KinsellaMr Steven Kinsella

Parent Governor appointed for 4 years from 18 May 2016

Joined the governing body in May 2016. Also sits on the Finance & Business Management sub-committee.

Steven is a qualified accountant who works with businesses to assist in financial, IT & operational change projects.

Mrs Susan HassettMrs Susan Hassett

Co-opted for 4 years from 4 March 2015

Governor responsible for School Business Management.

Susan is retired, having been a Primary School Bursar in Northampton for 23 years. Susan sits on School Appeals Committees on a voluntary basis and is also a director of Hassett Fencing Ltd.

Mrs Sue ShurvilleMrs Sue Shurville

Co-opted for 4 years from 27 April 2016

Sue spent 33 years as a teacher in Northampton Middle and Secondary schools until her retirement in 2010. Of this, 14 years were in Senior Management, Safeguarding and as a member of school governing bodies.

Ms Shakira ThompsonMrs Shakira Thompson

Co-opted for 4 years from 10 February 2016

Shakira has worked in the IT sector since 2005, primarily working with intranets and Information Systems. Currently works for Santander.

Mrs Debbie Mallett

Co-opted for 4 years from July 2017

Debbie is a CIMA qualified accountant and has worked in local authorities for over 14 years. Debbie has also worked in a University Technology College as Business Support Manager and was a member of the Strategic Leadership Team. She has also been a governor at another primary school in Northamptonshire.

Ms Marie-Clare Soan

Local Authority Governors, appointed July 2017

Marie-Clare has a First Class BA (Hons) Marketing Degree and is currently a Marketing Manager working in the European Digital Advertising industry.

Mr Brian Gwynne: Head Teacher.Mr Brian Gwynne

Mr David EverettMr David Everett: Staff Governor.

Mrs Stephanie Tillman: Associate Member. Mrs Stephanie Tillman

Clerk To Governing Body

Mrs Erica Fothergill

Erica joined as clerk to the Governing Body in April 2015 and is also clerk to two parish councils.